Posted by: Tara Aarness | July 9, 2010

The ACO Who Owns 2 ADD OCD ACD’s

My husband is an Animal Control Officer (ACO) for the county and in December of 2008, he brought home yet another Australian Cattle Dog (ACD), named Daku, who was deemed ‘unadoptable’ until someone worked with him. The first ACD, named Casey, he rescued from a farmer who was going to shoot her, unless Cougar (my hubby’s nickname) picked her up within the next 15 minutes (literally). But that was several years ago while he was employed at The Home Depot.

For those of you who haven’t had the pleasure of living with ACD’s, let me fill you in. It’s like living with an intelligent two-year who has Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD) and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD). Example – Daku loves to play and he’ll switch between the ball, a stuffed chew toy, the Kong, and rolling, all in the span of a minute. When he hears the call of nature, he must to turn his left three times, followed by once to the right before he able to answer that call.

Today, both dogs have found a good home to live in – ours. And on this rather hot day, I struggled with our two chuckle heads, and my To Do list. Today’s To Do list is composed of two 8 ½ x 11 sized pages, double spaced, as to allow for notes, and, because I’m my own slave driver, my goal is to complete said list by 6:00 pm. As of 2:45 pm, I’ve officially completed one page.

While there’s nothing truly important on this list, just odds and ends of miscellaneous tasks, I still feel as if I haven’t pulled my weight if I fail to complete it before my deadline (and I’m rather deadline oriented).

Seattle’s sun shines brighter than any other city on the planet, in my opinion, and when it graces us with its presence, the urge to run amok, frolicking through the warm fields like a school girl, is almost too much for me to withstand. So rather uncharacteristically, I threw out my endless To Do list, grabbed the dogs, the hose, and did something the two furry loves of my life do well – play.

 

Responses

  1. Nice dog related post. :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

