Posted by: Tara Aarness | May 19, 2010

Living With STD’s

Ok, I’ll admit it; I have an HPV and am not afraid of letting the world know. STD’s are very common here in Washington, as it seems everyone has them nowadays. I am, of course, referring to Socially Transmitted Diseases and being proud of my Human Powered Vehicle – our little, green push mower.    

Good Things Come in Small Packages

 

With the environment and economy in the state they’re in, push mowers make sense, what with the fuel costs the way they are. I know what you’re thinking, ‘Not for me, thanks, too much work,’ but hear me out.    

  • Saving the environment from CO2 gases
  • Get a good workout while being productive
  • Budget friendly (won’t be buying expensive fuel or gym fees)
  • Won’t be depleting natural resources (doesn’t require oil)
  • No noise pollution (early Saturday mornings, you won’t annoy your neighbors)
  • Low upkeep/maintenance
  • Better for the lawn, making it the envy of your neighborhood (push mowers cut the lawn like scissors vs. gas powered mowers that cut away at the blade of grass. Think of it like having your hair cut with sharp scissors vs. very dull ones)

These are just a few of the benefits to be named. With our kids growing as fast as our lawns, it seems we have hardly enough time to fit everything into our already packed schedules and both end up suffering.    

Society praises wafer thin models and actresses, leaving the rest of us envious and self loathing, as we trudge off to the Zumba classes that hardly gets your pulse racing, just so we can feel marginally better about ourselves and be better parents. With the push mowers at our fingertips and a lawn that’s vying for your attention, your abs, arms, and legs will get a great workout and you can immediately spend the time and money you saved with your family, enjoying the fruits of your labor.    

My idea is simple and with no hidden cause or message. Push mowers, though difficult and not the easiest solution around, are one of the greatest tools a multitasked individual could ever ask for (easier is hardly ever better). Saving the planet, being a better parent, get a good workout, be a good neighbor, and in the end, quality time with your family. Sometimes all we need in life is a little push to get us started.

Responses

  1. I take offense to your comment on Zumba. It is an awesome work out! We are dripping wet by the time we finish and no dirt or grass clippings stuck to our legs. 🙂 Have you tried it yet? It covers every muscle in your body, I swear even my ankles get a workout. Try it some time, you might change your thoughts on it.

  2. Hi Sue,

    Thanks for dropping by and checking out my blog! Yes, I have tried Zumba before and I didn’t receive the sort of workout (sweat dripping, every muscle worked) that you described, despite putting everything I had into it. Anne Marie of ‘Little Black Dress’ blog

    (http://lbdpt.wordpress.com/2010/05/19/the-zumba-experiment/)

    had a similar experience to mine, so I know it wasn’t an isolated incident. The concept is certainly great, though.

    I’m really glad you’ve found what sounds like an awesome class and are enjoying the benefits of your hard work.

    Cheers,

    Tara 🙂

  3. OK, this is really funny! Laughing… glad to hear you used a push mower. We don’t, but remember that when I was a child there was an old one sitting out in our orchard that we liked to push around. Good for you! Our planet needs all the help it can get.

  4. Hi Kathy,

    Thanks! The word ‘orchard’ conjures up a vast amount of land, and while I’m abitious and anxious to farm, it still seems a bit daunting. However much you pushed the lawn mower around your orchard, I’m in awe. Even though you may not still use one today, I’m certain you contribute to saving our planet and my family thanks you for all of your efforts, as well.

    Cheers,

    Tara 🙂

  5. Though this didn’t actually pertain to sexually transmitted diseases…I read the title and immediately knew where you were from. =]


Leave a Reply

Categories

