Posted by: Tara Aarness | March 8, 2010

The Beauty of Life

Driving along my city streets, a brilliant array of pinks, greens, with splashes of yellow greet me and remind me that, like our ancestors before us, we have survived winters cold grasp.

Wonderfully Early Spring

The salmon pink of Japanese Quince shrubs standout amongst their stark, chocolate brown stems. Not to be outdone, Cherry trees burst with soft pinks, while fresh green leaves burst forth competing to be noticed. Yellow daffodil flowers in full glory are held high by their deep, lush green stems are clustered between tulips, which are awaiting their recognition.

Japanese Quince

And every morning, I am awakened by the light that filters through our curtains that the love of my life draws back before returning to the warmth of our bed. As my eyes begin to clear, he whispers, as he’s done for nearly the past ten years, ‘I love you,’ and I smile, curling up with him. Gazing out our window toward the Ornamental Flowering Plum trees that seemly bloomed overnight, the sunlight dapples through the petals of their delicate pink flowers and this is how I start each day.

Our Ornamental Flowering Plum

Troubles are undoubtedly a part of life, yet the beauty that greets me daily, regardless of type of sun Seattle has to offer, reminds me to simply enjoy each moment and be grateful, because today is a great day to be alive.


Responses

  1. good to see this

  2. Thank you for the nice compliment on my recipes! I am glad we found each other as I thoroughly enjoyed reading your beautifully poetic description – and photographs – of springtime. You’re right… just like many before us, hard winters may seem endless, but they can, in fact, be survivable!

    I look forward to reading more of your entries!

    Emily

  3. Great photos–I am ready for spring here. We have had a taste of it and the flowers and colors are soon to follow.

  4. Wow Tara, this post is amazing. Your description of the Spring blossoms paints a wonderful picture. The positivity emanates from the page / screen in such a way as to inspire. And that I love. A woman after my own heart, I think. You’re now bookmarked and I shall be keeping up with you on a regular basis.

    Kind regards,

    Suzy Barker, Just Midlife, http://justmidlife.wordpress.com


Leave a comment

Categories