Posted by: Tara Aarness | May 17, 2010

Going Greek

Didn't Know Going Greek Could Be This Good!

Being not much of a foodie, seldom do I come across a dish that’s plate licking worthy and it’s even rarer that I come across one that is healthy, to boot. Getting in touch with my Greek roots (according to Ancestry.com, I have them…waaaaaay deep down); I cranked up ‘Zorba the Greek’ and any other Greek music I could find, preparing to whip up this simple, yet scrumptious salad.

With our kitchen nearly completed, I set up make shift counter space near our rabbit, Ms. Beatrix Potter (named after the author of Peter Rabbit), as it was the only available space. Chopping the veggies, she and I danced the Kalamatianos like Plato and Aristotle did, yet without nearly as much skill, let alone wisdom (although Ms. Potter was much better than I).

The Chopped Greek Salad with Chicken is loaded with vitamins, quick to make, and incredibly easy. Already Gordon Ramsay’s worst kitchen nightmare, though, I was skeptical on their claims and was very pleasantly surprised when even I, Captain Slow (yes, I just stole James May’s nickname), had dinner ready in just five minutes later than the claimed amount of time. Was even more surprised when it actually tasted like it should; no induced vomiting required! Hoorah, I have made something – from scratch – that’s edible! My husband, who happily eats anything I put in front of him (the man has an iron stomach and a heart of gold), loved this and it’s been placed on our regular menu.

If you’re like me and in a sassy mood, I suggest trying yours with a few cappers, artichoke hearts, and kalamata olives. Their zesty flavor wasn’t too much, as I had feared, and I reveled in the taste.

So, folks, if you’re up for something quick, easy, and oh so very tasty, try this and please let me know what you and your family think! And if you happen to have any recipes you’d like to share, please pass them this way. Kalí óreksi!

Chopped Greek Salad with Chicken (July/August, 2009 issue of Eating Well magazine)

4 servings, about 3 cups each

Active Time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients
• 1/3 cup red-wine vinegar
• 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
• 1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill, or oregano or 1 teaspoon dried
• 1 teaspoon garlic powder
• 1/4 teaspoon salt
• 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
• 6 cups chopped romaine lettuce
• 2 1/2 cups chopped cooked chicken, (about 12 ounces; see Tip)
• 2 medium tomatoes, chopped
• 1 medium cucumber, peeled, seeded and chopped
• 1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
• 1/2 cup sliced ripe black olives
• 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

Preparation

1. Whisk vinegar, oil, dill (or oregano), garlic powder, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Add lettuce, chicken, tomatoes, cucumber, onion, olives and feta; toss to coat.

Nutrition
Per serving: 343 calories; 18 g fat (5 g sat, 7 g mono); 89 mg cholesterol; 11 g carbohydrates; 31 g protein; 3 g fiber; 618 mg sodium; 656 mg potassium.
Nutrition Bonus: Vitamin A (140% daily value), Vitamin C (45% dv), Folate (31% dv), Potassium (19% dv), Calcium (15% dv)

1 Carbohydrate Serving


Responses

  1. Wow that Greek salad looks fantastic. I wish I had not eaten already.

  2. It’s surprisingly filling, too. Hope you get an opportunity to make it soon! 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories